A Christmas Poem

It’s Christmas Eve so Santa please

grant me this one desire

When I go to bed and lay my head

don’t set my house on fire

 

Down the chimney you wander nimbly

making footprints with the snow

Just leave your gifts so I can sift

through them all in one crazed go

 

It would make you sad if I’d been bad

I assure you I’m good as gold

but if you wake me up I’ll stamp my foot

and put you in a choke hold

 

Your fat belly knocks over the telly

you scramble to put it back

Then in haste as you move your waist

you trip over our sleepy cat

 

For a sec I had to check

for on its end stood my hair

In my bed I think I said

‘Santa are you there?’

 

The magic dust was a must

you sprinkled it on my head

I forgot… your present plot

and went back to my bed

 

In the morning when day is dawning

perhaps I will remember

That special feeling that left me reeling

one night in dark December

 

Author: Defined by Thrine

'The times they are a-changin' A passionate writer without an agenda History undergraduate Speak freely, listen intently #moreyinthanyang #healthydebates Enjoy...Defined by Thrine.

Leave a Reply

